I never knew before what it meant to surrender my life to God. How do you do that? It sounds so spiritual to say in a prayer “Yes, Jesus, yes, I surrender to you”. But how does a person even apply that? I would pray that prayer every now and then, mostly because I heard other super-Christians praying it, but then I would go about my day as though nothing had changed.

To surrender is to give up expectation. To know that when plans change, when circumstances become something you didn’t imagine, that God is in control and however the story pans out, it is in God’s view. God knows the entire story before it even starts to unfold. Even though our freedom of choice creates a story-line for our lives that wouldn’t have been God’s ideal plan for us, it doesn’t mean that it isn’t in his plan.

Everything is in God’s plan because everything is in his sight. God is never surprised when certain things happen.

Surrendering your life to God is realizing, even, or especially, in the confusing and difficult periods, that God has it. It might be out of your control but it is never out of his control. Surrendering means taking a deep breath and praying “God, this doesn’t make sense, but even though it doesn’t make sense, I give you my life, my marriage, my husband, my body, my mind…take me and mold me into the woman you want me to be. Please help me realize through the trials that you are with me and that I can get through anything when I lean on you. Give me the sight to see your hand in everything.”

And when the next hard moment comes, you pray this prayer again.

Surrendering is reminding yourself when you are crying that God is holding you.

Surrendering is telling yourself to trust even when you don’t think you have the strength.

Surrendering is allowing God to take control.

Surrendering is sometimes defined in our culture as being irresponsible.

It’s not about rushing forward, jumping into something and doing what your human eyes see as best. It’s about taking your time, allowing God to lead, and knowing that it may mean sacrifice. It involves taking a deep breath. It means listening for his voice.

Surrendering means that no matter what is happening around you, even when it doesn’t make any sense, prayer is more powerful than action.

Right, Katie?

Right.

You need to surrender Katie.

Yes I know.

Stop worrying, my sweet girl.

But it’s hard.

I know, but I love you and I will always love you and I will lead you. Just take my hand.

 

Leave a Reply

