Therefore, I urge you, brothers and sisters, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and pleasing to God – this is your true and proper worship.

Romans 12:1

I was listening to a Francis Chan video, one of his teachings for his book Multiply, and one thing he said really hit me. So often, in our Christian walk, we wait for ‘feeling’ to come before the action. We wait to feel ‘led’ before we are obedient. Francis challenged us to be obedient and allow the feelings to come when and if they do.

It’s so true! There is something huge I have been considering doing in the past while, since God rescued me from the path I was on, and I’ve been praying and waiting for a sign to take this step. I realize now, that it has been my fear that has been holding me back, not God. When I look at the step that has been on my heart to take, I realize that there is no way that God would tell me not to do this. It’s hard. It’s huge. But I need to take a deep breath and step out with courage and faith.

The bible tells us to be obedient, to sacrifice ourselves, and that this is true worship for our God. I need to sacrifice my pride, my image and even my emotions in order to be obedient to him. And by doing this I am worshiping the savior that sacrificed it all for me.

It is because of God’s plan and his plan alone that I have reached this point in my life. The point where I know that, regardless of how the world views my life or defines ‘success’, I know that I am where I am meant to be. My heart is full, overflowing with excitement when I look at what I am involved in on a daily basis. God is constantly bringing me to ways to give him glory and I feel complete when I pursue those tasks. I have bad days, days where I look at my circumstances instead of at God and I get bogged down and overwhelmed. But when I focus on God and pray that he gives me strength and courage and peace, he does. And when I pray that he puts tasks in front of me that with bring him glory, he does. And when I pray. And when I keep centered on him. And when I realize that nothing else matters but him. Life calms and my heart is full.

Emotions are elusive. They are unreliable. And satan can use our surroundings to alter our emotions in a heart-beat. So we can’t trust in our emotions to be obedient to God! We can only back our actions up with scripture and pray that God will lead us where he wants us to go. And when we take emotions out of the picture and trust that our savior is in control. When we take steps, regardless of our feelings, and are obedient, then we will see God work. Not only will we see God work, but we will know that headed towards our purpose in life.

So how can we apply this in our daily lives? Well, you know that family you wanted to bring dinner to? Just do it. Don’t think about if they’ll appreciate it or if you’ll feel weird about arriving on their doorstep. Just do it. You know that person at work you hesitated in complimenting the other day? Just do it. Don’t worry about their reaction or your insecurity if someone else hears you. You know how you were planning on volunteering at that soup kitchen? Just do it. God will help you ease into conversation with the people there.

Make a list of all the things that have been rolling around in your mind. Things you’ve wondered if you should do or say. Write a list and accomplish one of those things every day. If they’re bigger accomplishments, make a goal to cross them off the list once a week.

Have you considered that it may be the Holy Spirit that is prompting you to do these things? Maybe those ideas are actually God whispering in your ear. Why don’t you just do them? Don’t wait for the right emotions to propel you into action. As long as these actions are biblically sound, do them!

Yes, there may be times where you need to take two steps backwards. You may realize that you rushed forward to quickly and it wasn’t the right timing. That’s ok! Life is a constant state of learning. Learn from your mistakes.

You can’t ever mess something up more than God’s ability to fix it. Trust me, I know.

When you sacrifice your emotions, your sleep, your free time, your energy and body…when you give up something to glorify God…that is worship! It’s when we worship our Creator that we feel whole and complete. And if we make an effort to do this daily, imagine how full our lives will feel!

Leave a Reply

