I am really loving Ephesians. There’s so many little goodies in that book. You should see my bible, it’s all marked up and highlighted and underlined…I love that we have so many promises from God in less than three pages.

One verse that stood out to me yesterday was Ephesians 1:18-20

I pray also that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened in order that you may know the hope to which he has called you, the riches of his glorious inheritance in the saints, and his incomparably great power for us who believe. That power is like the working of his mighty strength, which he exerted in Christ when he raised him from the dead and seated him at his right hand in the heavenly realms.

After reading it with a friend a couple days ago, I decided to go over it again. I went over it a few times yesterday, trying to really grasp what it meant. I felt like there was something there I was meant to get, and after I prayed that God would help me understand it more, and read it again, I moved to reading the latest book I’ve started on “Power of a Praying Woman” By Stormie Omartian. I found my place in the book and started to read. At that exact place, Stormie was quoting these exact verses in Ephesians.

Here’s the three things that stand out to me:

1) God has called us to hope

2) We are given the “riches of his glorious inheritance”

3) He provides his “incomparably great power” for us

The definition of hope is: The feeling of expectation and desire for a certain thing to happen. Expectation, trust, promise, anticipate.

God gives us promises and gifts us with hope, the expectation and anticipation that these promises will happen. God never backs out of his promises. Ever. Even if it means fulfilling those promises after someone has passed away, he will still stick to his word and keep his promises.

We are given the “riches of his glorious inheritance”.

His divine power has given us everything we need for life and godliness through our knowledge of him who called us by his own glory and goodness.

2 Peter 1:3

Not only is my God able to provide me with anything I need for life, but he is also willing and eager to provide me with anything I need in godliness. I am called to live for his glory and in doing so, in being obedient to him and working on my relationship with him, my knowledge of him, he will provide every single thing that I need.

God provides an “incomparably great power” for us. Power of prayer, power to overcome, power to heal, power over evil…Through God we are powerful, through our prayers we are powerful. God’s power. Not ours. God works through us if we allow him the room to work in our lives. If we surrender control to him and allow him to take over, we will see his power work through us.

The very same power that raised Jesus from the dead is available to us. Isn’t that a crazy thought? And if God has already done the impossible, raised his son from the dead, how much more is he capable of working in our lives? Providing us with money when we need it. Giving us a piece of encouragement for the day. Bringing someone back to our lives who is on the wrong track. If this power is capable of raising the dead back to life, how much more is it capable of answering our “little” prayers? This power is available to us. Just think about that for a moment.

For God did not give us a spirit of timidity, but a spirit of power, of love and self-discipline.

2 Timothy 1:7

You need to persevere so that when you have done the will of God, you will receive what he has promised.

Hebrews 10:36

When we persevere, push through hard times and lean on God’s promises, we will see the fulfillment of his promises to us. We will see his power work around us and we will know that he is God and that he is so much more powerful than all of our fears. We will see that he is a God that does not give up, does not back down and does not abandon his children or the promises he made to them.

And we can have hope, anticipation, expectation and trust that our God is protecting us and leading us towards our best life in and with him.

 

Leave a Reply

