This is the day which the Lord has made; we will rejoice and be glad in it.

Psalm 118:24

Today is a beautiful fall day. The air is crisp but the sun is still warm on my skin. And it’s Friday. It’s hard to think Friday’s are ever bad, even as a waitress when the weekend schedule is unpredictable.

But what happens on Monday? It’s become a fact that Monday’s are terrible. We all start the week with an automatic bad attitude. Usually things go wrong, Monday’s are stressful, we’re getting back into the weekly work routine. We’ve had to wake up early and after a weekend of relaxing, our minds are still fuzzy. I don’t know of one person that appreciates Monday’s. Comments like “Well, it’s a Monday”, with a sigh and rolling our eyes, are typical.

But Monday’s are still the day the Lord has made!

When I read this verse the other day, it struck me that I used to read this verse and translate it in my head to say “The good parts of today are what the Lord has made”. Which obviously isn’t what the verse says at all and isn’t the truth. God has made every part of your day. He knows when each thing will happen, when your boss demands something of you, when the photocopier jams, when your hubby brings you a coffee and makes your day.

All the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.

Psalm 139:16

God hasn’t just written down “Today Katie will wake up, she will go to work and she will visit with so-and-so”. He’s written down each and every little detail before they even happen. He has already allowed certain things to happen, he has already placed certain things in your path, he has already allowed the sun to shine or the rain to pour. He knows that this particular day, you will get a mosquito bite. He already knows that your kids will whine and complain on this day or that you’ll get that bonus at work you’ve been hoping for.

Lord save us! Grant us success!

Psalm 118:25

Instead of starting your day off wondering what it has in store, dreading the Monday Blues, why don’t we pray these verses? “Lord, you have made today and everything in it. I will rejoice and be glad in today! Save me from whatever struggle will come today, grant me success to walk in you in every way today.”

I know that if I woke up every day and prayed this prayer, I would automatically start the day off right! Before my feet even hit the floor I would be determined to have a good day and to pray during my struggles that day that God would help me through.

I really like the NIV translation of Psalm 118:24 “The Lord has done it this very day.” He’s already done it! “God will bring me success today, God will help me be patient today and God will give me strength today. I will be positive, I will have a good day. The Lord has done it this very day!” To wake up in the morning with that affirmation would set us on the right track before our day even starts.

“Be the kind of woman who, when your feet hit the floor in the morning, the devil says ‘Oh no, she’s up’.”

Leave a Reply

