When I tell people my story, there’s a few responses I get. Some people are just amazed, some people are skeptical and many people say “Well, I wish God would speak to me like that!” or “I’ve never heard from God like that”.

I get it. It seems strange to hear from God as clearly as I have in the past several months. It seems strange to me, even! I look at the amount of times that he has blatantly answered prayers, obviously spoken to me, given me dreams, and I am amazed that my GOD takes so much notice of me that he is working in my life like this. I am a nobody. A small town girl who rebelled, left her husband and committed a multitude of sins. I am just a ordinary, don’t know what I’m doing half the time, girl. I am just me! But my God has been drawing close to me in ways I didn’t think were possible.

But if from there you seek the Lord your God, you will find him if you seek him with all your heart and with all your soul.

Deuteronomy 4:29

I think there is just one simple reason that God is speaking to me lately.

I am spending time with him.

Come near to God and he will come near to you. Wash your hands, you sinners, and purify your hearts, you double-minded.

James 4:8

God promises that when we speak to him, he will speak to us. When we spend time with him, he will spend time with us. Draw close to him and he will draw close to you. He asks us to take the first step.

When I left my husband one of my favorite ‘see, I tried!’ lines was “I prayed for years to fall in love with him and God never answered”. First of all, I didnt pray for years. I prayed occasionally during the years, but I didnt commit to attacking this issue with prayer. And I truly, one hundred percent, believe, that if I had drawn close to God in every way possible, he would have drawn close to me and given me what I was asking for. He would have spoken to me. He would have answered my prayers.

Leave a Reply

