Today I heard the story of the Elijah and the prophets of Baal. It’s found in 1 Kings 18.

There was a drought happening and God instructed Elijah to gather all the prophets of Baal on Mt. Carmel. When they were all there, the prophets built an altar and Elijah built an altar. It was a show-down between God and Baal to see which one would answer and bring rain. The prophets of Baal went into a frenzy praying and screaming to their god, they danced around the altar, they cut themselves with knives, they killed a bull as a sacrifice…and their god didn’t answer.

And when they had given all they had and still not gotten an answer from their god, Elijah calls the people over and builds his altar in front of them. He kills a bull as a sacrifice and then pours water all over the altar, and then pours more over it. And then pours even more. And after this is done, he prays a simple prayer.

“Lord, I am your servant, hear my voice. Prove to the people today that I have done this at your command. Answer me so they will know that you are God.”

Immediately.

Fire came from heaven and consumed Elijah’s altar. And the people saw and they cried out, knowing that Elijah’s God was the God.

God has called me to pray a simple prayer. To sacrifice to him and to stand back and watch him work. He has asked me to just live my life, to work on my relationship with him, and to watch him preform miracles. Everything might be going crazy around me, life might be wild and not make much sense. But God has asked me to focus on him and pray quietly.

Yesterday I experienced three answers to prayer. Three. I witnessed a miracle. God works even when you can’t see it. When you think that nothing is happening, that God is silent, he is preforming miracles.

I am a simple girl. I am no one special. And God is listening to my prayers and continually answering them.

Whatever you are wanting, pray for it. God WILL answer! Jesus said “And I will do whatever you ask in my name, so that the Son will bring glory to the Father. You may ask me for anything in my name and I will do it.” (John 14:13-14)

Again, I tell you that if two of you on earth agree about anything you ask for, it will be done for you by my Father in heaven.

Matthew 18:19

Sometimes when you’re discouraged, it hard to believe that your prayers are going anywhere. It’s hard to have faith that an unseen God is hearing our voices and answering our prayers. But yesterday, I was reminded that our God moves mountains. He listens and he is capable of anything.

I look back on things I would pray for when I was living my own life and laugh. I realize now that God has answered those prayers, but not even remotely how I thought he would. I thought I was praying for one thing, and God knew I was really praying for something else. Does this make sense? I would ask for him “success” thinking that this meant money or a good job, and he knew that what I really needed was a deeper personal relationship with him. I would ask for an amazing guy in my life, thinking that this meant a new boyfriend, and he knew that this meant my heart needed to be with my husband again.

I remember praying one specific prayer, an annoyed prayer, a prayer that I didn’t even feel like praying but for some reason I did anyways.

“God, if you want my husband and I to be together, you’re going to have make it happen because I’m not going to.”

Why? Why did I even pray this?? I didn’t want to! At that time I didn’t want to be with my husband, the thought wasn’t attractive at all! But for some reason, God placed it on my heart to pray for him to work towards that…and I actually prayed for it. And look where I am now! It makes me laugh to think about it! I prayed to be restored to my husband when it was the last thing I wanted at the time. And here I am, my heart completely his and living a God filled life, waiting for him. And it certainly wasn’t because of anything I did…I prayed that God would work to make this happen…and it was ALL him! And continues to be all him.

If I am meant to live the rest of my life living to witness God’s miracles…it’s worth it. He will blow your mind! And the best part is the way it ministers to your heart. The giddiness it gives you, the elated sense that your God is indestructible.

One thought on “

  1. Pingback: Glory

Leave a Reply

