Then Ananias went to the house and entered it. Placing his hands on Saul, he said, “Brother Saul, the Lord—Jesus, who appeared to you on the road as you were coming here—has sent me so that you may see again and be filled with the Holy Spirit.”Immediately, something like scales fell from Saul’s eyes, and he could see again…

Act 9:17-18

…One thing I do know. I was blind but now I see!”

John 9:25

Spiritual blindness. is. huge.

I have experienced it first hand, I know what it is like to have scales over my eyes. To be completely blind to what is happening around me, not only how my actions are affecting people, but what my actions are and how disobedient I am being to God. Completely blind to how I am doing the opposite of what God asks of his people.

There may be a scientific explanation for spiritual blindness, some people will try to explain it in the physical realm, but I know what I’ve personally experienced and I know that it is spiritual. And I can tell you, it’s not an excuse when I look back on the last two years of my life and wonder who the heck was living it. It’s not a way out or being in denial of my actions when I say that I look back and am shocked by what I did. I bewildered when I think that I actually slept with other men. I am embarassed at how I started to speak, the swearing and crude comments, jokes and stories. I am ashamed at the way I treated my husband. And I know that satan was allowed to put scales on my eyes. I was blind. I was not myself! The old Katie was not there. A new Katie, a Katie that satan was in control of, was there instead. I would not have been surprised if literal scales had fallen off of my eyes onto the floor Easter weekend when I visited with my friend in the back of her store.

I have friends, non-christian friends included, that saw me in my new city, living my new life, that tell me now that they knew I wasn’t myself.

I have people telling me now that they saw my posts on Facebook, which I thought weren’t many or indepth, and they knew I was on the wrong path.

I have emails from my hubby telling me I wasn’t the same girl. Telling me that I had changed and to think about what I was saying and how I was saying it.

I thought at the time, that I was doing ok. That I was happy, content and enjoying life. I thought that I was finally being myself. I thought that I was a Christian, but that I was allowing myself the freedom in my Christian walk to live how I should be living…free. And I thought that I was care-free.

Looking back, I can see that I was slowly becoming bitter and angry. Frustrated and hardened. It didn’t take much to make me angry, my fuse had become very short.

It’s called blindness for a reason! A person in spiritual blindness doesn’t realize what they are doing, they don’t see where they are going and they don’t comprehend how their actions are affecting them or the people around them. They literally can’t understand that what they are doing is wrong and where they are in life isn’t where they belong.

I had people try to talk their way into my life, trying to say the right things to lead me onto back towards God. My husband, my mom, my friends. And their words didn’t go far. I was too hardened, my eyes were covered to the truth they so badly wanted me to see. Their hearts were in the right place, their words were true, and I wish that I could have seen what they were saying, it really would have prevented so much hurt. But it was impossible until it was possible. Until I had experienced all that I needed to experience to break me, God wasn’t going to allow anything to stop the path I was on. He was allowing me to go down the wrong path in order to show me that all I needed was him.

Sometimes God allows bad things to happen to good people to help them see that they need to fully depend on him for every single little thing. By his grace we are allowed to be lost so that when we are saved, we fully realize his power. By his mercy we are allowed to live in blindness and darkness so that when we see the light, we know that, without a question, that is where we belong.

The best thing to do if you have someone in your life that is off track, is to shut your mouth, get on your knees and pray. There is no magic mix of words that will bring them back. It is only God that can do that. And he will! He sees his lost sheep and is running after them.

Every email, text or phone call that was sent to me with words of correction or accountability was met with distain. I thought the friends that corrected me or told me they were praying for me were pathetic. I told them I didn’t want their prayers and I pitied their lives, their “sheltered” lives that centred around everyone else’s expectations and “should’s”. I thought they were weak and needed to move on with life. Their words meant nothing to me and didn’t penetrate my hard heart.

Thank GOD their prayers did! Thank God they kept on praying and pushed and leaned into God’s promises of restoration, making the hard heart flesh again (Ezek. 36:26) and finding the lost sheep.

If you have someone in your life that is lost, that is on the wrong track, keep praying. Stand beside them, unfortunately for you that might entail smiling and nodding through their bizarre and senseless stories and actions, but stand beside them as a friend so they know they have a safe place to come to when God starts bringing them home. Keep reminding yourself that they can’t understand what they are doing, they can’t see it. Keep praying for them. Make a point of praying the armour of God over them daily and praying that God will work in their life. Unless they ask for your opinion, you don’t need to tell them. If they know you well enough, they’ll know your opinion already. BUT…

I honestly think that if you are close enough to this struggling person, you have the “right” to tell them ONCE that you think they’re in the wrong and need to return to God. Once and only once. Make sure your heart is loving and gentle and other than this one time, love on them and pray continually.

God is faithful, he is listening to your prayers and will rescue the lost. Unfortunately they may need to experience some hurt before they come back. Before the blindness is healed.

Jesus spat into the dirt and placed mud on the blind mans eyes to make him see. That is what he does with us, he takes us through the mud to give us our sight.

Leave a Reply

