I’m finding that sometimes living for God’s glory can get busy and even complicated. It’s a simple concept, but when do you rest in him? When do you “be still”?

A friend and I were just chatting about this. There’s so many things that we can do to give God glory, so many things that we can fill our lives with…but what do we put effort into and what do we rest in? When do we give up the ‘good’ and wait for the ‘great’?

I have been told by God, in no uncertain terms, to return my heart to my husband. After I took action and stepped into obedience, God instructed me to leave the city I was living in and return to my hometown. He literally spoke to me on the top of a mountain in Peru, and showed me that this is what he wanted me to do. So, knowing the dissatisfaction that running from his will gave me for the past two years, I did it. I knew that following his instruction to me, no matter how difficult, no matter if it made sense or not, would make me feel more whole than ever before.

I’m not running any more, especially not if God speaks to me on the top of a mountain. When he speaks, I jump. I’ve learned my lesson. And I’m sure I will continued to learn it.

Sometimes when God speaks to me, it’s in a dream, sometimes it’s through his Word, and sometimes it’s a complete sense of ‘knowing’ in my heart. The instructions from God to move to my home town were in a combination of these things, but it was the instructions for life when I was home that were the ‘knowing’.

I just ‘knew’ that when I moved home, God wanted me to just live. Just relax in him, rest my soul, build my relationship with him and just live. I just ‘knew’ that he would be working while I was living. And he did. It was incredible to watch God answer prayer after prayer, speak to me so clearly through other people and his word, and to help me gracefully transition into my new / old life.

But then the novelty wears off a bit. The normal life sets in. The realization that my bills are being paid…but that is all. Spending money is nil. My own home is not an option. New clothes are a luxury. And sushi and a movie? That’s a dream.

Ok God. What now? Can I switch jobs? Earn more money? Get my own apartment or house? I start to get frustrated with not hearing his voice. I start to ask him what my new instructions are. I start to get angry with where my life is.

I start to want more.

Societies pressures of “normal” start to press down on me.

God’s word says to “Be still and know that I am God” (Psalm 46:10), but how are you supposed to be still and know when you’ve followed his instructions into what most people would deem as “crazy” and suddenly you feel like he’s forgotten you?

My friend is reading the book, Experiencing God: Knowing and Doing the Will of God by Henry Blackaby. One night when her and I were texting back and forth about our rough emotional battles, she read a section of the book and sent this quote:

He just kept doing the last thing his Father told him to do until his Father told him what to do next.

It’s so easy for me to complicate my walk with God, to put societies expectations onto my life, to assess opinions and apply them to my actions. But really, I don’t need to worry about these things. When it really comes down to it, they are not going to get me through the Pearly Gates. God is.

So when life gets complicated, when I start to worry or get angry, when I get frustrated at how my life is so abnormal and simple, I just need to remember to focus on what God has asked me to do and wait until he tells me to do something different.

Bringing glory to God is simple, let’s not complicate it.

Listen.

Do.

Do. Do until you’ve heard new instructions and then do them.

Listen. Do. Listen. Do.

Leave a Reply

