In him we were also chosen, having been predestined according to the plan of him who works out everything in conformity with the purpose of his will, in order that we, who were the first to hope in Christ, might be for the praise of his glory.

Ephesians 1:11-12

 

I read this verse last night, not even meaning to find a verse that applied to bringing God glory, but stumbled across it as I was praying for God to show me something to feed my heart.

Sometimes when I read the bible, I forget that everything in it is true. Weird statement to make, I know, but really. If I was to read this verse without pausing and thinking about it, the meaning I would walk away with is “Ok, God works out the BIG things in my life so I can bring him glory.” Which isn’t such a bad thing to walk away with, but it’s not the truth.

God works out everything in conformity with the purpose of his will.

Everything.

Every. Single. Thing.

If I have learned anything since returning to God, it’s this. Every single thing happens for a reason. Nothing goes unnoticed by God, and every little thing that happens in your life is because he knows it is happening, because he planned it to happen and because he wants it to happen. There is a reason. Sometimes, especially in the hard moments, it’s hard to see this reason and hard to believe there even is a reason…but there is.

I have a note in my phone that is titled “Coincidences”. I realize there’s no coincidences, it’s a sarcastic title, but it’s where I keep a list of all the “Coincidences” that happen in my life. And there’s a huge list!

Easter weekend I made the sudden decision to fully return to God and return my heart to my husband. It was an amazing change inside me, one that compares to the day I invited Jesus to be my savior; joy, butterflies, anticipation…emotions you can’t describe. I was in my hometown, visiting my parents, and in the visit with an old friend my true heart tumbled out and I knew my life needed to change. I broke up with the guy I was dating and in love with and God became number one in my life for the first time ever. I devoted my heart fully to my husband, and committed to living as his wife until God restored our marriage, regardless of where my husbands heart was.

Coincidence #1: Returning home to the city I was living in, I realized that our church was starting a 5 week series on Crazy Love and relationships. Coincidence #2: I attending a bible study that happened to be studying Esther and how God changes our destiny. Coincidence #3: In this bible study a girl at my table shared with me how God had just restored her marriage. Coincidence #4: I started volunteering and “randomly” met a girl who was waiting on God to restore her marriage as well. Coincidence #5: As I was praying for marriages and had just started praying for my husband, my hubby drives around the corner.

The list goes on and on and on!

Nothing. NOTHING happens by accident.

Everything is in HIS plan, in HIS will, in HIS timing for HIS glory.

And the best part is that his plan is perfect, his will is perfect and his timing is perfect. If we wait on him, live our lives to bring him glory, and allow him the space to work, our lives will be more full than we can even imagine.

 

Leave a Reply

