What if you committed every one of your actions to giving glory to God? Before you did something, bought an item, planned a trip, went to work, you prayed and asked God to show you how you could glorify him in that action. And what if you actually listened to his prompting after that prayer?

I think that this is where I got stuck before. Listening to God’s answer. I’m obviously not perfect, I struggle with this still, but I’m becoming more sensitive to listening to the little tugs he puts on my heart.

I have spent the last two years running from God. Denying his voice in my life and doing, literally, anything I wanted. I am the Poster Child for the Prodigal Son story.

Two years ago, March 1st, I left my husband. I had been struggling with thoughts of leaving for a while and I “finally” admitted to myself what I had subconsciously known was coming: I wanted a divorce. I told him I was leaving, packed my car, and drove 9 hours in -30c weather to my new city where I had already rented a room and applied for jobs.

God told me, not even two months into leaving my husband, to read the bible. His voice was clear and loud, and as I lay in bed crying hot, angry tears, I told him in no uncertain terms that I wouldn’t do it. His voice told me that by being obedient and reading my bible I would return to my husband, and I retorted that I wasn’t ready for that. And so I didn’t listen. I lived my completely rebellious life, partied, dated and slept with other men (which is really just a nice way of saying I committed adultery), and ran in the opposite direction of God.

And then one day I decided to be obedient. Something had been slowly changing in me, even if I wasn’t admitting at the time that it was God bringing me back to his kingdom. Again, I lay in bed, and I looked over to my bible. “Ok God, I’ll read one verse, but that’s all I have time for.” I picked up my bible and couldn’t put it down.

And my life changed.

Suddenly, and I mean suddenly, my heart was on fire for God. I was craving every bit of his presence, I couldn’t get enough of his Word, sermons, books, Christian friends…I couldn’t be satisfied but yet I hadn’t never felt so satisfied in my life.

All God needed was for me to listen to his voice and be obedient.

All I had to do was take one step towards him and he would rush towards me. Like the Prodigal Son, all I had to do was take that one little step towards home and he saw me from the distance and ran towards me with open arms.

You will be shocked at the changes God will do in your life when you listen to him and commit every action you take to giving him Glory. God will speak to you more clearly than you’ve ever heard before. Give yourself time to listen to him, pray for his voice to be clear, and dare yourself to be obedient even when it doesn’t make sense.

My commitment is to give God glory in every thing I do. It’s hard, it’s sometimes frustrating and it’s definitely not “normal”. My life is not what I would choose it to be, but my heart is finally whole and I am satisfied in my Savior.

 

Leave a Reply

