For some reason lately, Romans 8 has been re-occuring often. Either in verses I’ve randomly seen on Facebook, or the pastor at my church has mentioned it…Last night, because apparently it takes me a week or so to act on God’s nudging, I spent time studying it. I love tearing verses apart. I love writing them out, then highlighting the more meaningful words and looking up their definitions. And then I look the verse up in a couple different translations. It really helps me have a well rounded view of what the verse means, and I find that the different translations give different perspectives. I really love this process!

In our Christian circles, verses have a tendency to be over-quoted. It gets to the point that we have heard them many, many times and we turn our brains off to the true meaning and feeling behind them. It’s bound to happen in anything, not just our Christian walk, but it’s frustrating in our walk with God because it means SO much to shut certain messages off even if it is subconsciously.  Romans 8:28-30 are some of those verses for me.

And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose. For those God foreknew, he also predestined to be conformed to the likeness of his Son, that he might be the firstborn among many brothers. And those he predestined, he also called; those he called he also justified; and those he justified, he also glorified.

I’ve heard this verse a thousand times. I’m sure I’ve read it a thousand times too. I’m sure there have been times where I’ve gotten something from it, and then the next time I got something else from it, and then the time after that I skimmed over it thinking “Yeah yeah, I’ve read this one before”. But this time, I flushed it out, grabbed definitions and translations and really studied it.

…We know that in ALL things, GOD WORKS for the GOOD of those who love him…

In every single situation God works for us. He never sleeps, he never has his attention on just one person or circumstance, his eyes and ears are ALWAYS on every single person he has created. He listens to their prayers and works towards bringing them into the life that he has designed for them.

Like I said before, I am a part-time waitress. Not really by choice, but because God pretty much told me to take this job. He told me he would provide it. So I feel I am meant to be there until he tells me to leave. I’m going to be honest, my tips suck. They’re awful. I’ll work a full day and get $40. Big whoop. I don’t think that I’m a bad waitress, I love serving and really work at being thoughtful and kind to my customers, but the “small town mentality” is that tips are barely 10%. Which is fine, not only are tips in addition to my wage and not mandatory, but if I truly believe that God is my provider and that he is working in EVERY situation for my good, I can put my trust in him that he is looking out for my financial situation. Especially when he told me to take this job.

…Who have been called according to his purpose…

There is a purpose for me. God has a plan, how often do we hear that? But how often do we actually stop to think about what that means?

God, the maker of this entire universe, the creator of the trees, the sunset and the thunder and lightening, has a PLAN. For ME. “Katie girl, there’s something I need to you do during your life on earth. I’m going to work it out, if you trust me and let the control you have on your life go, I will make it happen”. How cool is that?! The God that allows the blood to continue to pump from my heart, throughout my body, and has made a mass of flesh in my head we call a brain to compute, is telling me he has a plan for me. I have a purpose for his kingdom.

And the best part is, by allowing him to put this plan into action, I will feel more fulfilled than ever before. I will feel as though I am satisfied, as though I am accomplishing what I am meant to. I will feel WHOLE.

…For those God foreknew…

Who didn’t God foreknow? God knows everyone, he created us, in our mothers wombs he knit us together. Which means that we are ALL predestined to be like Jesus. We’re all called, we’re all justified, we’re all glorified.

This is our purpose in life! This is what will make us complete. To strive after Jesus, to pursue a personal relationship with God, to allow him to mould our lives. This is what will give us that satisfaction in life we are all searching for. Our sole purpose in life is to life according to God’s calling. Stop complicating it by asking “Well, what job does that mean I need to have? What career? What car? What house? What man?”. It’s as simple as chasing after our Saviour. Get to know him, spend time with him, listen to him, talk to him, become like him. And you will feel complete. You will feel like you’ve found what you’re looking for.

I promise.

 

Leave a Reply

